The last year – by Cassidy Browning

17 Apr

I know that Reggie has already written about why we haven’t been online very much for the last few months, but I think that all three of us girls are also going to write about our perspectives of the last year.

It’s been a rough one, there’s no doubt of that. When Reggie lost his job as a police sergeant none of us quite knew what we were going to do. As authors we had hopes that our books would support us, but it wasn’t happening quite fast enough to ease the worry over money problems.

We had a couple of options: stop travelling with Poly’s Pleasures, the chainmail business, and everybody get full-time jobs and try to write in the evenings, or kick up the business and the writing and try to make a go of it on our own. Now, I know that lots and lots of people manage to hold down full-time jobs and write, but it just didn’t seem possible to do that and continue with the chainmail business, so it seemed like it came down to a choice between jobs and chainmail.

I love chainmail. I love making it. I love being one of the top producers of chainmail jewelry in the country (yeah, there aren’t that many). I love the fact that it lets us travel all over and do fun events like Folsom Street Fair in San Francisco and Fantasy Fest in Key West. I love when people tell us how much the pieces they’ve bought mean to them, and come back to us for more. I love doing the Red Ball in Denver and being challenged to come up with new and different designs for it (even though there’s a lot of cussing and bitching involved). I really didn’t want to give up Poly’s.

So we kicked up the business a notch and settled down to try to write more. Unfortunately the writing didn’t really speed up a whole lot. We’ve gotten almost four books done in the last year but can’t publish them quite yet because I’m doing a personal bankruptcy (more about that later). We did spend a whole wonderful month in Florida doing a bunch of new shows and meeting some really amazing people like Isabella LaPearl and her husband and Lara Valentine.

But it wasn’t quite enough. After we got home, Reggie decided he had to get a job and I decided I had to do a bankruptcy. He did get a job at Frontier Airlines in November. This is cool because now we can travel much more cheaply than we could before. But it’s only part-time, which means money is still extremely tight. Eeza got a job at an assisted living facility, and is doing very well there. Evie and I are concentrating on running the business and writing.

It’s been a very tough year, emotionally, financially, relationship-wise—you name it. We’ve all felt the stresses of money being tight, emotions running strong, changes that have to be made. We’re all changing in ways we didn’t really think we could. I have hope that our writing careers will be successful, especially with the new series that we’re working on with Anna Riviera, a wonderful writer. I have faith that things are working out the way they’re supposed to. You can’t move forward until you let go of the past, right? Can’t make an omelette without breaking a few eggs? It’s a trite saying, but it’s really true. Until you accept change in your life, you’ll stay stuck in the same place. Change is scary, and once it starts there’s often no stopping it. But that’s okay. I’m learning to let go of my expectations and my need to know how things are going to work, and just let them happen. I believe we’re doing what we’re supposed to be doing, and it’ll all turn out the way it’s supposed to. I have faith.

2 Responses to “The last year – by Cassidy Browning”

  1. Lori King Books April 17, 2014 at 8:19 am #

    Change sucks. There’s no other way to put it, but your family has accepted it, and grown from it. ((Hugs)) to all of you! I can’t wait to see what you do in the future!

  2. cherie Clark April 17, 2014 at 2:17 pm #

    Love hugs and all the positive energy that I can wing your way. Stay sttong. Kia kaha

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,963 other followers

